Want to Squat DEEPER?

The following is a guest post from Jason Maxwell of jmaxfitness.com. Want to know how Jason got from Squat zero to superhero in four weeks? Find out below.

Check out the original post here.


Look Good Naked

L et me tell you a secret.

Four weeks ago, I couldn’t squat to parallel.  It was impossible.  If I did, my lower back would start to flex, take over the load, and be painful.

This is bad news.

Luckily, those days are over for me, and I have Dan John to thank.

Look Good Naked

Lower back flexed vs Neutral Spine

So what did I do?

It may seem just too logical to be true, but I started squatting every day.  Loaded (with a neutral spine), unloaded, front squats, goblet squats, and bootstrapper squats…I did them all (and still do).

People think it’s ridiculous to squat every single day… but they’re probably the ones who stand up when they take a number 2.

Here’s what I started doing:

  • I have a kettlebell on the floor in my room.  Every time I walk past it, I pick it up and do a couple of goblet squats (videos of everything are below).  Sometimes I just sit deep in the squat, other times I do a few quick reps.  Nothing fancy, but I’m still afraid of ripping my jeans.
  • During my warmup, I started adding a set of: bootstrapper squats, hip hinges, Cossacks, and quadruped rocks.  If you do the quadruped rocks in front of a mirror, you can visually see yourself getting better at getting deeper in that “squatting hole”.
  • I revamped my diaphragmatic breathing, and I always make sure that I have a full breath of air in my stomach whenever I lift anything.
Look good naked

DWu approved!

Four weeks later, I’m hitting squats to parallel (barefoot).  Anyone who’s ever squatted barefoot knows that it is much tougher than in shoes with a raised heel.

If your squat form has much to be desired, try out what I suggested above.  It’s fun.  It’s easy.  And it’s SUPER rewarding.

Let me know how it goes!

Learn the Goblet squat (Pat Flynn)

The bootstrapper squat (Dan John)

Have any tips on how to get deeper on the squat? Have any questions for Jason Maxwell?

Comment below and check out our facebook page!

Look Good NakedJason Maxwell is a Certified Personal Trainer (CPT) under the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA) and is an FMS – Level 1. Helping people lose fat and gain muscle is his passion. Why? It’s just way too much fun helping people to LOOK GOOD NAKED. Check out his blog, Jmaxfitness.

6 Comments

Filed under Articles

6 responses to “Want to Squat DEEPER?

  1. This is awesome advice, but do you have any thoughts on back squats? I’ve done many unweighted squats and jumping squats in my past, and below parallel is no problem on those fronts. But I’m not that well versed when it comes to back squats, and I always feel like I’m going to topple over. I think it’s something about my hands not being in front of me or something… Any thoughts?

    • David

      A lot of the time people have the bar in an insecure position high on their neck rather than squeezing their shoulder blades together to build a solid “shelf” for the bar to sit on. The bar will sit on the contracted, meaty part of the trapezius muscle and the arms will pull down hard to lock it into place. No discomfort, no problem and totally secure. Be sure to get it right with a dowel first.

  2. Stick with the front squats for now, but practice the back squats in your warmups every workout via Anderson back squats. Don’t load it heavy until you master the movement.

  3. Thanks for the advice!

  4. Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements
    would really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Kudos

Leave a Reply

