Weight Loss, Deadlifts and Inspiration: Hoda’s Journey

waterloo strength

The following is a guest post from WARRIORS S&C member Hoda Attia. Her weightloss journey has been an inspiration to countless members and staff at UW.

In this article, Hoda shares with us her passion for fitness, how she achieved her goals, and of course, some of her favourite motivational pictures. Though she’s in Florida now, we wish her all the best as she continues to help others with their fitness goals.


MY JOURNEY BEGAN THREE YEARS AGO. Weighing 180lbs and miserable, I felt as if my body was holding me back from enjoying life and that I would be destined to a lifetime of obesity. I knew that I needed to change, the problem was I had no idea how.

In the Spring of 2009, I met Mariano – a student in my french class whose drive and healthy lifestyle I came to admire. Mariano was starting a health/fitness business called Team Jacked and offered to train me for free as long as he could use me in his portfolio.

Thus began my life changing journey.

Warriors conditioning

This is one of my favorites, it was the first picture that inspired me. my girlfriends and I all used to have it as a backdrop on our laptops for months. She speaks the truth! it’s not easy, but if you want it bad enough, you will have to make sacrifices and work for it!

After a few months with Mariano, I had lost 35lbs, though stressors at home and elsewhere in life were affecting my passion and drive. I couldn’t maintain healthy eating habits and exercise at the same time, it was one or the other. I needed to find the balance.

On April 30th, 2011, I faced one of the hardest decisions of my life. Would I fight to change myself for the better or would I let myself be defeated by my emotions? I chose to take control of my life and find balance through proper eating habits AND exercise. It was the only way I knew how to harness all the emotions I was experiencing. I put myself on a 3 month plan that I created using Oxygen and Men’s Health magazines. I went to CIF everyday for 3 months and reached my goal, losing a total of 50lbs from my first weigh in with Mariano.

Warriors conditioning

I am a firm believer in mind over matter. To me, the word “can’t” is an indication of one lacking faith in themselves. When working out gets hard, I talk myself through it. I would rather look like a crazy person at the gym than back out of a workout.

Going to CIF was more to me than just getting fit, there was a sense of a community. I knew that I needed to do deadlifts but had no idea how, so I asked Kory for help and ever since he’s been coaching me in nutrition and fitness. He encouraged me to join the WARRIORS S&C club which was one of the biggest compliments I’ve ever been given and it gave me extra motivation.

I decided that I wanted to do the same for others as Mariano has done for me; he changed my entire world around. So I began to find motivational/inspirational pictures, quotes and videos that would help keep me grounded and motivate others, including those who had never exercised a day in their life.

I ASPIRE TO INSPIRE.

Waterloo strength

The picture really says it all. It’s not about having it easy or comfort, it’s mainly about doing what you NEED to do in order to achieve your goals. It does not come easy, no sir it does not, but its worth it, gaining your life back is the best feeling in the world.

Many people that I know have changed their lifestyles because of the transformations I’ve made. I’ve picked up clients who are doing wonderfully and am in the process of opening up a CrossFit/MMA gym with my high school friends, David and Tyler, in Florida. I feel confident, I LOVE myself and I’m living an all around happier life.

I’ve learned throughout this time that health and fitness go BEYOND aesthetics; it’s easier to do practical things like move furniture, carry groceries and lift heavy luggage. Whatever the task, I have the confidence that I can do it. I’ve learned a lot about myself and my body the healthier I have become; no more junk food running through my veins!

“To know and understand your body is a pretty amazing feeling”

warriors strength club

I always see people at the gym sticking within their comfort zones – I used to be the same way. When I injured my knee, I had to challenge myself to work out my upper body. In doing so, I discovered strengths I never knew I had! This made me a firm believer in constantly pushing yourself to new levels. It makes you feel powerful.

Never in a million years would I have imagined that I would be where I am today. I not only have Mariano to thank, but the trainers at PAC & CIF, the members of the WARRIORS S&C club as well as my friends and family in Florida who have helped me so much. You have all been the purest form of support.

I have been blessed with the health and ability to achieve anything I want. Now, more than ever before, I believe in myself.

Waterloo conditioning

This is my favorite speech. During my 3 month program, I would listen to it every single day as I walked to the gym. These words apply not only in the fitness realm, but in life as well.

Stay tuned for Part 2! We’ll be sharing an exclusive post of more of Hoda’s best motivational pictures. Do you have any questions or comments for Hoda? What are your favourite motivational pictures?

Be sure to check us out at our facebook page and post below!

Warriors strengthHoda is a 4th year political science/history student at UW. Once she stepped foot in the healthy lifestyle world she became addicted and cannot see herself without eating clean, and training hard. Her passion in life was always to help people, and now she has found her calling as a personal trainer. She’s opening up a crossfit gym with her best friends, who are also her family. She believes in working hard, and loves nothing more than to lift weights.

5 Comments

Filed under Articles

5 responses to “Weight Loss, Deadlifts and Inspiration: Hoda’s Journey

  1. What an amazing story. I am blessed to be a part of this journey and can’t wait to see what is in store for Hoda Attia.

    • David

      Very well articulated and motivational Hoda. You truly have conquered many feats as you have grown into yourself, and this story is a great representation of how fitness can connected great things in all aspects of life. Cheers! (carrot juice in hand)

  2. Dan From Iran

    wow! that was incredible!

  3. Margie

    So incredibly proud of you and all the dedication you invested and are continuously achieving. We love your drive and hard working ethic. You are always bettering yourself through your practice and leading by great example & inspiration. Don’t stop, get it get it!

  4. Pingback: 10 Motivational Pictures to Inspire Change | WARRIORS

Leave a Reply

