My First WARRIORS Conditioning Workout

The following is a guest post from Kathy Hui, one of the up-and-coming executives with WARRIORS S&C. The article details her first experiences at our WARRIORS Conditioning events; it’s short and sweet but resonates well with the experiences of many other members within the club.

Enjoy, and feel free to come check out our Conditioning events this semester, Wednesdays at 6:30pm in the Warrior Zone! – Austin

I am the most unconditioned and unathletic human being I have ever met. Two years ago, I joined the WARRIORS Strength & Conditioning club in Fall 2010 because I thought it meant “getting fit”. Woot! Sitting at the First Term meeting, I wasn’t really sure what I was getting into. I’d never heard of CrossFit; never touched a bar; heck, the closest I’ve ever come to lifting prior to that was lugging my textbooks around campus. (Farmer’s walks, anyone?)

It was at the end of the First Term meeting that I asked Ben how I could get started. Nonchalantly, he said “Come to this Saturday’s Conditioning event”. And so I did. Boy, was I in for a surprise. Saturday came around with clear, sunny skies – it was nice outside. The execs explain the workout:

3 rounds for time of:

45 metre lunges

45 metre sprint back

15 burpees

Time limit: 15 minutes

I was in the first heat (thank god because I don’t think I could have done it if I had watched the others go first), and 20 seconds in I was already stalling and lagging behind. My quads were on fire. 45 metres never felt so long! I get to the other side minutes later and, upon sprinting back, my legs nearly give out like jello. My “sprint” became an awkward jog. The rest of the workout was a blur of people cheering me on, more quad pain, and a lot of facetime with the grass.

My time? 13:52. How did I feel? Estatic, with my stomach halfway up my throat! Needless to say, my legs were sore within the hour, and the next few days were pain. Stairs? I dragged myself along the rails. Washroom? Yes, I slow-mo squatted onto the toilet seat every time I needed to relieve my bowels.

That first workout was on September 26, 2010. On June 1, 2011, I completed that workout again, with a time of 9:43. Still painful but more bearable and less afterburn. The following year, April 5, 2012, that workout was the finale to the summer’s Conditioning sessions led by Will. I finished in 8:43.

To the average person, these times are long. But to me, that’s progress! I guess what I am saying is that there are no excuses. Every person out there who is afraid to go to the gym or try something new, I know that feeling. There is no shame in not knowing how to do something. So I urge anyone that is on the brink, anyone that has been silently lurking around, to do what I did and…

Take a leap of faith!

Remember your first WARRIORS S&C event? What were your goals when you joined the club? Share your first experiences with us and the progress you’ve made, in the comment section below! Also, check out our facebook page!

Kathy is a full-time engineering student! Introduced to weight training back in 2010, when she joined WARRIORS S&C, Kathy is on a continuous learning path towards better health, nutrition and getting stronger. She loves to cook and is adopting a paleo lifestyle. Kathy has dabbled in general strength training and currently has an interest in weightlifting.  A good WARRIORS Conditioning workout always pumps her up for the rest of the day. Outside of the gym, you will find Kathy watching movies, nerding out (not in AHS bro), or eating.

Leave a comment

Filed under Articles

Leave a Reply

